City schools present awards to top students, educators

The top students, teachers, and principals of the Monroe City School system were honored Tuesday night in a special ceremony at the Monroe Civic Center.

Presenting the awards, Superintendent Brent Vidrine said the students and faculty were selected on the basis of excellence and performance.

Those honored included:

Students of the year: Caleea Boutte, Barkdull Faulk Elementary; Camille Gayden, Berg Jones Elementary; Jaylen Johnson, Carver Elementary; Rayne White, J.S. Clark Magnet Elementary; Lawson Ratliff, Cypress Point Elementary; Brianne Daniel, Thomas Jefferson Elementary; Janiya Banner, Madison Foster Elementary; Megan Price, Minnie Ruffin Elementary; Ruth Brown, Roy Neal Shelling Sr. Elementary; Nicolas Pesek, Sallie Humble Elementary; Edjanae’ Darby, Henry Clay Carroll Jr. High; John Ewing, Robert E. Lee Jr High; Shelby Wright, Martin Luther King Jr. High; LaNya Carter, Morris Henry Carroll High School; Randolph Brockman, Neville High School and Taylor Moore, Julia Wossman High School.

District Students of the Year: Megan Price, Elementary; Shelby Wright, Jr. High and Randolph Brockman, High school.

District Principals of the year: Cleveland Mouton, Elementary; Dana Mullins, Jr. High and Christella Dawson, High School.

Teachers of the year honored were: Amy Hodge, Barkdull Faulk Elementary; Briana Crockett, Berg Jones Elementary; Cheryl Rogers, Carver Elementary; Whitney Cascio, Clara Hall Elementary; Rebekah Baker, J. S. Clark Magnet Elementary; Matthias Drewry, Cypress Point Elementary; Paulette Comanche, Thomas Jefferson Elementary; Julia Gross, Lexington Elementary; Deirdra Hamilton, Madison James Foster Elementary; Jalaine Price, Minnie Ruffin Elementary; Samantha Jester, Roy Neal Shelling Sr. Elementary; Suzie Buck, Sallie Humble Elementary; LaKristal Horne-Cole, Henry Clay Carroll Jr. High; Reagan Wise, Robert E. Lee Jr. High; Beverly Marshall, Martin Luther King Jr. High; Constance Clark Wilson, Morris Henry Carroll High School; Kathryn Waters, Neville High School; Justin Overacker, Julia Wossman High School and Ginger Wiley, Sherrouse Alternative School.

The event was held at the Fort Miro Room of the Monroe Civic Center on April 23, 2019.