Local students to compete for Miss Louisiana 2017

This week, 33 contestants from around the state are competing for the title of Miss Louisiana 2017. The competition begins on Thursday and will close out with the Top Ten on Saturday night, June 24, 2017. The Saturday night finals will air live on KNOE-TV beginning at 8:00 PM. Over $63,000 in cash scholarships and $325,000 in in-kind scholarships will be offered to contestants.

Seven local students from the University of Louisiana at Monroe will be among the thirty-three. They are Christina Gray (Miss Union Parish), J’Lyn Henderson (Miss Taste of the Twin Cities), Ashlynn Lanford (Miss ULM), Lauren Ford (Miss Heart of Pilot), Baylea Huffman (Miss Monroe), Allison Newton (Miss Louisiana Stockshow), and Jo’ Hillard (Miss Cane River).

Gray, Ford, and Hillard are all former Miss Monroe titleholders.

Written by